CWEC/CFÉC was founded in 2018 after the dissolution of the Canadian Women Economists Network (CWEN/RFE).


The role of the Canadian Women Economists Committee/Comité des Femmes Économistes Canadiennes is to support and promote the advancement of women in the Canadian economics profession. On behalf of the Canadian Economic Association, it will undertake to

  • ensure appropriate representation of women economists and their interests in professional activities and forums
  • improve women economists’ employment opportunities and monitor their progress
  • provide a forum for raising, discussing and addressing issues of concern to women in the Canadian Economic Association

For our Terms of Reference, follow the link on the sidebar.

A list of the regular activities we sponsor visit the ongoing activities page.

Committee 2018-2019

Member Affiliation Term Expires at the close of the
Elizabeth Dhuey (Chair) University of Toronto 2022 conference
Yanling Wang Carleton University 2022 conference
Elisabeth Gugl University of Victoria 2021 conference
Marie Connolly UQAM 2021 conference
Janice Compton University of Manitoba 2020 conference
Kelly Foley University of Saskatchewan 2020 conference
Jing Yang Bank of Canada 2019 conference
Mevlude Akbulut-Yuksel Dalhousie 2019 conference

You can find a list of past CWEN presidents here.

Subcommittees 2018-2019

Subcommittee Members
CWEC Priorities Janice Compton, Elisabeth Gugl, and Yanling Wang
Mentoring Mevlude Akbulut-Yuksel, Yanling Wang, and Jing Yang
Newsletter Marie Connolly, Elisabeth Gugl, and Jing Yang
Professional Development Mevlude Akbulut-Yuksel, Marie Connolly, and Kelly Foley
Communications Elizabeth Dhuey and Kelly Foley
Bylaws Janice Compton and Elizabeth Dhuey